Tis the season! Healthy pumpkin loaf

Fall is here! You know this because Starbucks is serving the famous pumpkin spice latte. Cans of pumpkins greet you first thing at the grocery. And I even ordered a pumpkin martini at happy hour the other day. 

I love pumpkin goodies but they often involve lots of oil, butter, and sugar. I decided I wanted to get in the fall spirit by baking a pumpkin loaf, but one that I wouldn’t feel guilty about. I found this recipe that replaces oil with applesauce and greek yogurt. Cutting out LOTS of fat and calories. I was afraid it wouldn’t taste as good as the real deal but it was just and sweet, moist and delicious! The yogurt adds protein and pumpkin is chock full of health benefits as well. I am going to eat some tomorrow morning for breakfast before I complete my favorite stadium routine!

How do you all modify your favorite recipes to make them more nutritional? 

Image

Leave a Reply

