Tough Mudder 2012: Yes? or NO WAY

 

A friend of mine recently asked me if I would like to join his team for the Tough Mudder event in Tampa on December 1st. I had heard of these extreme challenge courses before but went to the event’s website to get more information. According their site, a Tough Mudder event is a “hardcore 10-12 mile obstacle courses designed by British Special Forces to test your all around strength, stamina, mental grit, and camaraderie.”. This video was also available, highlighting some of the obstacles and doing a very good job of intimidating the heck out of me.

Some of the obstacles include:

  • Swim through the ice, under a wooden plank and pull yourself out on the other end
  • Sprint through a field of live wires — some carrying as much as 10,000 volts of electric shock
  • Run through a trench of blazing, kerosene-soaked straw
  • Swing Tarzan-style across a series of hanging rings suspended over a pool of ice-cold water

And the list goes on and on. The question running through my mind is “Could I ever survive this kind of brute torture?”. I am a long distance runner, not a Navy SEAL. The only reason I want to complete this is so I can be a total bad ass. Because anyone who can finish this race deserves that title. Will keep you updated on my decision!

Leave a Reply

