UF at the cutting edge of journalism education with CMIR

Any Uf J-school student knows that to be successful in the field of journalism, you have to have experience before leaving school. UF’s college of journalism and communications is recognized for giving students numerous resources and opportunities for hands on, real world learning. As a telecom-news student I have worked for both WUFT-FM and WUFT-TV and I can honestly say these have been some of the best learning experiences I’ve had.  My credentials have led to a couple great internships, including last summer, when I did PR and social media for the Tampa Bay & Company aka the Tampa Convention and Visitors Bureau (during the RNC- super exciting!). Not only do you get great field experience, but because the program is small, you can really make connections and friendships with your fellow students.

Image

A co-worker and I at a TB&C event

Image

Fun at the WUFT-FM newsroom cook out

Last year, our newsroom received a huge makeover and the new, fully integrated Center for Media Innovation and Research (CMIR) is spectacular! By integrating the newsroom, UF journalists are now able to be creative and advance their skills in the digital and multimedia platforms. These skills are growing in importance every day and the world becomes more digital. The radio, TV, and print journalism students can all world together to create awesome multimedia projects like this radio story about the Pope’s twitter account.

This semester I will be graduating, and even though I don’t think I will end up an on-air reporter, the skills and experiences I have had at Weimer and at the CMIR will be beneficial to almost any career path in the communications field, and I am proud to call myself a graduate of this program. Go Gators!

460576_2862461921197_2069048434_o

Filming for a piece on the Florida Lineman Competition

Leave a Reply

